



Brief on Committee Changes in the New EP Term

1. Introduction

The European Parliament has confirmed the list and size of its committees and delegations for the first half of the 10th legislative term. This brief outlines the key changes in committee composition, with a particular focus on the Industry, Research, and Energy (ITRE) and Environment, Public Health, and Food Safety (ENVI) committees, as well as the newly established Public Health (SANT) sub-committee.

2. General Changes in Committees

The European Parliament has 20 committees and four sub-committees. The number of members in several committees has been adjusted to reflect current priorities and demands. Notable changes include the increase in the size of the ITRE and ENVI committees, both of which now have 90 members.

3. Focus on Key Committees

A. Industry, Research, and Energy (ITRE)

The ITRE committee has seen a significant expansion, increasing its membership by 12 seats to a total of 90 members. This change underscores the Parliament's commitment to leveraging decarbonization as an opportunity to boost Europe's industrial competitiveness.

Key members and their roles include:

- **Borys Budka (EPP)**, the newly elected chair, known for his work on restructuring Polish state enterprises.
- Ville Niinistö (Greens), who retains his seat but relinquishes his position on ENVI.
- Other notable members include Niels Fuglsang, Jens Geier, Nicolas Gonzalez Casares (S&D), Christophe Grudler, Bart Groothuis (Renew), and Michael Bloss (Greens).

B. Environment, Public Health, and Food Safety (ENVI)

The ENVI committee also expanded, now comprising 90 members, reflecting the high demand and importance placed on environmental and public health issues.

Key members and their roles include:

- Alessandra Moretti (S&D), anticipated to chair the committee, bringing her extensive experience since 2019.
- **Peter Liese (EPP)**, known for his work on emissions trading systems.





• Other prominent members include Cesar Luena, Mohammed Chahim (S&D), Pascal Canfin, Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy, Emma Wiesner (Renew), Jutta Paulus, and Tilly Metz (Greens).

C. Public Health (SANT)

The new Public Health sub-committee (SANT) has been established with 30 members. This committee will focus on addressing pressing public health challenges, particularly in the wake of recent global health crises.

4. Allocation and Distribution of Seats

The composition of committees and sub-committees is designed to reflect the overall makeup of the Parliament. Seats are allocated among political groups in a manner that ensures fair representation. For instance, the socialists (S&D), liberals (Renew), and greens have strategically placed their key members in influential committees.

5. Key Positions

- ITRE: Borys Budka (EPP) is set to chair the committee.
- ENVI: Alessandra Moretti (S&D) is the leading candidate for the chair position.

Notable substitutes include Bas Eickhout (Greens) and Marie Toussaint (French Greens) for ENVI and ITRE, respectively, who, despite their substitute status, are expected to play significant roles.

6. Current Status

The names of the MEPs appointed to each committee have been announced, with the election of committee chairs and vice-chairs taking place during their constitutive meetings on July 23, 2024. The committees are poised to be pivotal in shaping legislative proposals, holding debates, and conducting hearings with external experts.

7. Conclusion

The changes in committee compositions reflect the European Parliament's strategic priorities for the new term. With increased focus and expanded membership in key committees like ITRE, ENVI & SANT, the Parliament is poised to tackle critical issues related to industrial competitiveness, environmental protection, and public health.